It’s important to know how to find chords within a minor scale so that you have a number of options when it comes time to create your own song or if you simply want to know how your favorite hits have come together. Here’s a chord progression chart you to help you with your chord progressions.

Chord progressions are the foundation of all our popular songs, and I’m often asked how to write a beautiful minor chord progression. The minor tonic chord The submediant (vi) in the chord scale acts both as a function within major key progressions and as the relative tonic of minor key progressions. Play with with variations and adding the 7’th in on certain chords.

A big part of writing melodies is knowing the key that you’re in. As you can see, the Dom 7 flats the F which would normal be F sharp in a G major 7 chord. Once you know all of the notes that consist, you can start to learn additional scales and eventually start “breaking the rules.”. I’ve been playing keyboards for over 20 years and this is the place that I love to share my knowledge. We recently released a lesson on some different chord progressions to capture any mood. This key is popular as it is used in many big songs today and in the history of music. Here is what the notes will look like on your keyboards. The 27 best guitar chord progressions, complete with charts. Keep in mind that you can get crazy and use suspensions at your own liking. Natural minor also works over sequences of chords in a minor key.We might call these natural minor chord progressions, as we can solo over them using the scale. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. If you enjoyed this, let me know in the comment section below.