Mailing Address P.O. Elks Lodge 39 serves as a polling place for the primary election in Omaha on Tuesday. Terrell McKinney said he didn’t understand why his name would have appeared on the Pardons Board’s agenda, because he hadn’t requested it. Enjoy more articles by logging in or creating a free account. But another Ricketts appointee, Andrew LaGrone of Gretna, trailed challenger Jen Day. Tyler Schaeffer is running unopposed as a Libertarian. "People now see that he’s not looking out for them," Eastman said. Stickers are available for voters at Wellspring Church, a polling place for the primary election in Papillion on Tuesday. The November ballot is a rematch for Bacon and Eastman, who ran against each other in the district two years ago. The Associated Press declares Chris Janicek the winner in the Democratic primary for U.S. Senate. U.S. Rep. Don Bacon, the Republican incumbent in Nebraska's 2nd Congressional District, votes at Wellspring Church for the primary election in Papillion on Tuesday. Mark Elworth, Jr. is running unopposed in the Democratic primary, and Dustin C. Hobbs is running unopposed in the Libertarian primary. The NET News team is providing live coverage of the Nebraska 2020 primary election. See vote counts by county for the Republican presidential candidates. 'Purple' 2nd District Is Re-Match Between Rep. Bacon, Kara Eastman. These are the results of the May 12 Nebraska Primary Election. Secretary of State Bob Evnen reported Wednesday that more than 471,000 Nebraskans cast ballots in this year's primary election. Results from early voting have been posted on the Nebraska Secretary of State's website. Janicek will run against incumbent Republican Ben Sasse and Libertarian Gene Siadek in the general election. Election officials hoped polling sites would be quiet after a record number of Nebraskans submitted mail-in ballots. Pete Ricketts, Julie Slama of Peru. "I went right at 8 o'clock, I was the only person there to vote. Sen. Ben Sasse says his easy win demonstrated that Nebraskans want a "common-sense conservative," but that doesn't mean being in lockstep 100% of the time with the president. Bacon won by fewer than 5,000 votes. In races for the Nebraska Legislature, in nearly every instance incumbents were leading challengers. That included one senator appointed by Gov. A voter completes a ballot at a downtown Omaha precinct on Tuesday during the Nebraska primary. President of the United States: Democratic Party (45% of precincts partially reporting). (See most up-to-date results on the Secretary of State website.). Metropolitan Community College Board of Governors, ________________________________________________________________. That's well over the previous record of 413,015 voters, set during the 1972 primary. Rep. Don Bacon wins the Republican nomination in the 2nd Congressional District, with 90.62% of the vote and 65% of precincts partially reporting. Signs mark Elks Lodge 39 as a polling place for the Nebraska primary election in Omaha on Tuesday. So I am guessing that many people took advantage of the opportunity to send in an early ballot.". Complete election results from the 2020 Nebraska Republican Primary. Eastman said she learned a lot from the 2018 campaign — and says a lot has happened in the two years Bacon has been in office. Deb Shaw, a poll inspector, helps a voter with his ballot at Nathan Hale Magnet Middle School in Omaha on Tuesday. There are six seats opened up by term limits forcing out incumbents; of those races, it appears only three will have a registered Democrat running against a registered Republican in the fall. Eastman won about 61% of the vote against fellow Democrats Ann Ashford, with about 32% of votes, and Gladys Harrison with about 6%. You can cancel at any time. Dennis Grace is running unopposed in the Libertarian primary. The Associated Press has declared winners in two key races: Kate Bolz wins Democratic nomination for 1st Congressional District, with 79.15% of the vote and 52% of precincts partially reporting. Campaign yard signs outside Walt Disney Elementary School, a polling place, on Tuesday. (Just saying, we did pretty good in 2018.). Polls across the state will close at 8 p.m. central time. Nebraska Secretary of State Election Results. Two candidates advance in nonpartisan races, unless otherwise denoted. Sharon Beverly waits for voters at a downtown Omaha precinct on Tuesday during the Nebraska primary. Bacon says he’s encouraged by high turnout among Republicans this year, but says he won’t take his foot off the gas: "We’re going to have to work as hard as we can, because this is a purple district.". We’ve projected how every competitive election in 2020 could turn out. That reduced the chances of a significant change in party registrations in the officially nonpartisan Legislature, which currently has 31 Republicans, 17 Democrats, and one independent. Springfield Platteview also got a financial shot in the arm. (Bill Kelly, NET News), A poll worker at the First Congregational Church in Hastings.