Football Fantasy 247 in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch, 28 Click through the gallery above to see the 10 nations with the most Ballon d'Or winners! Lionel Messi has 6 out the 12 to his name thus far and he could go on to account for 50% of the number if he emerges victoriously today, pushing Barcelona to number 1 on the list. All rights reserved. As the event draws closer, here are the top 3 European clubs that have the most Ballon d’Or Winners. Players to Have Won the Ballon d’Or More Than Once Germany’s first three Ballon d’Or winners were all crowned whilst wearing the colours of Bayern Munich, Gerd Muller the first of his countrymen to win the award in 1970 before Franz Beckenbauer became the first defender to win the honour two years later. These cases were several in history and left football fans shocked by the decision of the judges. Sep 16, 2020 08:30 PM Your email address will not be published. When you login first time using a Social Login button, we collect your account public profile information shared by Social Login provider, based on your privacy settings. Luiz Suarez (not to be mistaken with the current FC Barcelona striker) won the Ballon d'Or in 1960, just a year after countryman Alfredo Di Stefano, who acquired Spanish citizenship after converting from his native Argentina, won his second title. in Siyagobhoza, 11 Football Prediction Site in PSL, 4th Floor, 125 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town, 8001. Lionel Messi has 6 out the 12 to his name thus far and he could go on to account for 50% of the number if he emerges victoriously today, pushing Barcelona to number 1 on the list. However, their position on this list is under threat as a perennial rival Barcelona could be set to overtake them with the help of Lionel Messi. Asian Handicap Tips ANALYST Modified 15 Jan 2017, 18:38 IST. Whether it's Lionel Messi or Virgil Van Dijk who wins the 2019 Ballon d'Or, there ought to be few complaints. Somewhat surprisingly for a country which consistently produces leading talent, Germany’s most recent winner came 30 years ago, Lothar Mattheus named as winner of the 1990 Ballon d’Or after captaining Die Mannschaft to World Cup success at Italia ’90. They’ve produced 12 winners of the prestigious award over the years., — Footy Accumulators (@FootyAccums) September 19, 2016. in Mamelodi Sundowns, 33 in World News, 10 in Stars & Their Cars, 52 The Serie A giants have their prestige going for them as they are third on this list. Oct 16, 2020 12:13 PM Anuj Gowda FOLLOW. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. in Players Abroad, 3 The Ballon d'Or (French pronunciation: [balɔ̃ dɔʁ]; "Golden Ball") is an annual football award presented by French news magazine France Football that is one of the oldest and generally regarded as the most prestigious individual award for football players. Matthews was the first of four English Ballon d’Or winners, the second coming a decade later with Sir Bobby Charlton named European Footballer of the Year after inspiring England to World Cup glory on home soil, with the midfielder finishing as runner-up for the prize the following season. in Kaizer Chiefs, 73 Football Tips 1X2 Owen won the Ballon d'Or once. SHARE. The World's 10 Highest-Paid Football Stars Today, Pirates’ 26 Stars For The 2020/21 Season Confirmed, Jersey Numbers Revealed, Mngqithi: Sundowns’ New Signings Not Guaranteed To Stay, Check Out CR7 & His Girlfriend's Hot Bugatti Flexes, Kaizer Chiefs' FIFA 21 Starting XI & Player Ratings, Conflicting Information On Mido’s Downs Exit Talk, Another Top-Flight Club Enters Ngcongca Race, PSL Confirm Dates, Times, Venues For DStv Premiership. The history about the current Ballon d’Or award is a bit complex so lets explain it briefly. The most controversial Ballon d’or winners. Ronaldo became the first Brazilian to be named as the winner of the Ballon d’Or in 1997, the forward becoming the youngest player in history to receive the accolade at just 21-years-old, before winning the prize for a second time after inspiring the South American superpower to World Cup success five years later. Meanwhile, Barca legend Johan Cruyff has two to his name. 58 Oct 16, 2020 09:55 AM We also get your email address to automatically create an account for you in our website. The list is arranged from lowest to highest. The French waited a quarter of a century for their next winner, however, Michel Platini becoming the first player in history to win three consecutive Ballon d’Ors between 1983 and 1985, an achievement which has been matched only by Lionel Messi in the award’s entire history. Argentina is joint-fifth among the all-time winners with five titles, all of which have been claimed by superstar Lionel Messi. Ranking the five countries to produce the most Ballon d’Or winners, Teams that should have won the Champions League: Klopp’s Dortmund, Teams that should have won the Champions League: Mourinho’s first Chelsea side. Rossi’s award came after the forward had inspired the Azzurri to World Cup glory by finishing as the tournament’s leading scorer, and it was another triumph on the world stage that saw Italy’s most recent winner with captain Fabio Cannavaro winning the Ballon d’Or in 2006. Cannavaro’s imperious World Cup displays saw him become just the third defender to win the award, whilst he remains one of just three to win the Ballon d’Or- alongside Franz Beckenbauer and Matthias Sammer – with the voting often dominated by attacking talents. Oct 16, 2020 11:26 AM Oct 13, 2020 12:34 PM Barcelona have overtaken Real Madrid as Lionel Messi emerged winner of the 2019 Ballon d’Or award. Your email address will not be published. GET THE LATEST FOOTBALL PREDICTIONS FOR TODAY. in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch, 57