As a writer, I feel like I’ve succeeded. T.S. You tickled me twice with that framing fucking business reference, man. It's on this train where Stan Lee's cameo comes in to play as the late Marvel publisher can be seen reading a copy of the script to Mallrats, one of Smith's earliest projects. Both dumped by their girlfriends, two best friends seek refuge in the local mall. Where do you stand on each cut at this point? It works lovely in the scene. The request involved meeting the boyfriend of Ribisi’s daughter, Marissa, as the boyfriend had just retired from professional skateboarding in order to act. "[7] Kevin Smith responded by apologizing for Mallrats at the 1996 Independent Spirit Awards, though he later stated that the apology was made in jest.